Windies announced squad for upcoming ENG vs WI ODI series

Windies announced squad for upcoming ENG vs WI ODI series


After winning the ENG vs WI test series, Windies are eyeing to repeat the same performance in the ODI series. They have announced their squad for first two ODIs. This will be West Indies last ODI series before the upcoming World Cup 2019 and the squad might give us the hint about which players are under the radar of selectors for the mega tournament. But conclusion can’t be made as some of the players are picked after injuries to Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, and Lewis. Shannon Gabriel will also miss the majority of the ODI series due to his ban.

Return of Carlos Brathwaite and Sheldon Cottrell

Windies have brought in Carlos Brathwaite and Sheldon Cottrell back in the ODI squad for the first two ODIs of ENG vs WI series. Carlos Brathwaite last played for Windies in a 50-overs game in March 2018 against Zimbabwe while pace bowler Cottrell last played a one-dayer for Windies against Bangladesh in July 2018. Brathwaite will return from the PSL 2019, where he played in the opening game for Lahore Qalandars’ on Thursday, in order to be available.

Maiden call-up to John Campbell

John Campbell got the reward for his form shown in the Test series win over England and has been included in West Indies’ 14-man squad for the opening two fixtures. John Campbell’s opportunity comes after Lewis got injured in the BPL who could stake a late claim for a World Cup spot.

Courtney Browne – Chairman of selectors said that players have a chance to book their place for the World Cup squad. He said:

“With our squad suffering from injuries even before a ball is bowled, an opportunity presents itself for other players to make a claim for ICC Cricket World Cup spots.”

Windies Squad for the first two ODIs

  1. Jason Holder (capt)
  2. Fabian Allen
  3. Devendra Bishoo
  4. Carlos Brathwaite
  5. Darren Bravo
  6. John Campbell
  7. Sheldon Cottrell
  8. Chris Gayle
  9. Shimron Hetmyer
  10. Shai Hope
  11. Ashley Nurse
  12. Nicholas Pooran
  13. Kemar Roach
  14. Oshane Thomas

The first match of the ODI series will be played on 20th February at Bridgetown Barbados.

For more updates, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Pic Credits: Sports Keeda

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top