Pakistani Star named in ICC ODI team of 2018

Pakistani Star named in ICC ODI team of 2018


International Cricket Council –ICC- recently announced its ODI team of 2018 and finally there is some good news for Pakistan.

Former Pakistani Women’s team captain, Sana Mir, has been selected in the World XI, Women ODI side. She secured a spot after giving some tremendous bowling performances in the recent past:

Mir took 19 wickets in seven matches in a calendar year.

Currently, Sana Mir is the top-ranked bowler in ICC Rankings. With 663 points to her name, Sana displaced Australia’s Megan Schutt who is now second in the list with three lesser points.

In the ICC Women’s championship in just nine matches, Sana grabbed 26 wickets with a remarkable average of 12.75, probably among all-time best.

Mir has been gathering international praise for quite some time now. Interestingly, she is only the first Pakistani women cricketer to ever secure the top spot of ICC rankings in any category.

This is the second ICC recognition in as many months after her delivery to Ireland’s Laura Delany in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 was voted as the Play of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018.

Sana Mir elated by making into the World XI

Sana expressed her gratitude over this news and shared her feelings in a Facebook post which said,

Honoured and humbled to be named in the cross-format team of the year 2018. A 13-strong panel of writers picked their cross-format women’s team of the year based on performances between October 22, 2017, and November 24, 2018,”

Sana Mir’s records

Pic Credits: Brandsynario

Sana has made her country proud on many occasions and is amongst the handful of women from Pakistan who have made an international impact.

On 4th May 2009, Sana Mir was handed over the captaincy of the Pakistani Women’s squad; she had previously been the vice-captain under Urooj Mumtaz.

Sana has played 112 ODI matches for Pakistan and has successfully taken more than 135 International wickets. Her best figures remain 5/32 and her average economy rate in ODIs is 3.71 which is quite phenomenal by international standards.

In February 2017, during the 2017 Women’s cricket World Cup Qualifier, she became the first Pakistan woman to take 100 wickets.

Mir also led the Pakistan team to their first ever tournament win in both the T20 and ODI formats when they played in Sri Lanka in 2011.

At the domestic level, Sana has shown great form too. In Domestic cricket, the ZTBL team has won the second BB tournament and 8th National championship under her Captaincy.

Sana Mir also became the first woman cricketer to receive PCB Woman cricketer of the Year Award 2013.

World XI Women ODI Team


Sana’s glorious all-around performance has helped her win many hearts and accolades, however, this is just the beginning for her.

Sana’s entry into the World XI ODI squad is indeed a huge feat for the country as she has shared this honor with some of the most prolific cricketers.

The 11 member women’s ODI side includes:

  • Tammy Beaumont – England
  • Sophie Ecclestone – England
  • Smriti Mandhana – India
  • Poonam Yadav – India
  • Suzie Bates – New Zealand – Captain
  • Sophie Devine – New Zealand
  • Dane van Niekerk – South Africa
  • Marizanne Kapp – South Africa
  • Alyssa Healy – Australia
  • Sana Mir – Pakistan
  • Deandra Dottin – Windies

For more updates and Cricket news, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Picture Credits: ICC Cricket

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top