PSL 2019

PSL’s Sixth Team Name Revealed!! (Surprising Twist)


Ali Tareen, owner of the sixth team has finally revealed the name of his team after much wait and anticipation by the fans.

There was a tough competition between two names:

Multan Bahadurs and Multan Malangs were amongst the most popular choices. People all over Pakistan were desperately waiting for the team owners to announce the name and there was much hype around it, especially on Twitter where fans were actually fighting a battle over the name.

But after much deliberation, team management went ahead with the opinion of the majority and in a surprising twist, kept the name Multan Sultans without making any changes.

Ali Tareen confirmed the news on Twitter in a video message:


Poll for PSL’s sixth team

Initially, when Al Tareen bought the team, it was suggested that he would retain the name, Multan Sultans,. However, later Ali shared that he had plans of renaming the team and would like to link it to the culture and heritage of South Punjab.

The young politician and son of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Jahangir Tareen asked the cricket lovers and fans on Twitter to propose a name for the team and get a chance to fly to Dubai and Abu Dhabi to follow and watch the PSL 4 live.

Tareen disclosed in a talk show, Cricingif, hosted by sports journalist Zainab Abbas that they are inviting cricket enthusiasts to propose a name for the Sixth Team.

Suggested names

As per the poll announced by Tareen on twitter, the four shortlisted names included:

  • Multan Malangs
  • Multan Janoobis
  • Multan Saints
  • Multan Bahadurs

On Twitter, the audiences were clearly divided as both Multan Malangs and Multan Bahadurs got 34% votes each.

Ali then went ahead to his hometown to directly ask the people of South Punjab to suggest the final name of the team.


The Multanis voted for their favorite and urged to retain the previous name of the franchise i.e. Multan Sultans.



Ali Tareen becoming the owner of the 6th team

PCB confirmed on December 20th that Ali Tareen has won the ownership rights for PSL’s Sixth team.

The bidding for the sixth team was held in Lahore. And the Multan Consortium led by Ali Tareen won the franchise rights for the franchise, by exceeding the reserve price.

The reserve price set by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was $5.21 million per annum for a period of seven years. The reserve price was exceeded by Ali.

He declared the team a gift to the people of South Punjab and felt this was a much-needed step to give a sense of belonging to the people of his region.

Cricket Stars playing for Multan

A myriad of stars are part of Multan this year, Pakistan’s favorite all-rounder Shahid Afridi, former skipper Shoaib Malik and former ace Australian batsman, Steve Smith are amongst the most prominent players.

Star of recently concluded T10 league, Nicholas Pooran will also be a part of the team.

Shan Masood, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Shakeel Ansar and many other talented stars will be representing the franchise this year.

The A-lister cricketers in this team promise great strength to the team and make it a red hot contender for this year’s trophy.

It is yet to see who lifts the trophy in the fourth edition of Pakistan Super League but we are sure it’s going to be an entertaining time for cricket fans all around Pakistan.

For more updates, stay tuned to Cricket Howzat.

Read More: PSL 2019 Live Streaming and Broadcasting– A Detailed Guide

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top