NZ vs BAN Series: New Zealand announced their squad against Bengalis

New Zealand announces squad for NZ vs BAN series


New Zealand has announced their squad for upcoming  NZ vs Ban series. With World Cup approaching near, New Zealand has tried to balance the squad, going with rotation policy. The first match New Zealand and Bangladesh series will be played on 13th February at Napier.

Colin Munro Running Out of Time?

New Zealand has included Martin Guptill in the squad after recovering from back injury. This means that Colin Munro couldn’t make it to the full squad and is running out of time to cement his place for the World Cup 2019. Colin Munro although will get a chance but limited one when Kane Williamson will be rested for the 3rd ODI of the series. Colin Munro was dropped from the 4th ODI against India but was called back for the last ODI due to Guptill’s injury. But it seems like selectors are keeping faith on Martin Guptill and are considering pairing him and Henry Nicholls at the top of the order.

The Kiwi selector said

“We’re delighted to have Guptill back on the park for this series. He’s a world-class player and an integral part of our one-day side. He and Henry did a good job opening up in Hamilton against India and they’re a combination we want to see some more of in this series, before Colin returns to the top for the third game with Kane resting.”

SEE MORE: Bangladesh squad announced for New Zealand series.

Other Inclusions

The selectors are assessing their options for the World Cup and have put faith on Jimmy Neesham and Todd Astle in allrounder and spin-bowling positions ahead of Ish Sodhi and Doug Bracewell. Tim Seifert failed to make it to the squad despite making 84 off just 43 balls in the 1st T20I against India. The Kiwi selectors might scratch their heads to decide whether there is a need for a backup keeper or to use Nicholls.

New Zealand’s Full Squad


  1. Kane Williamson (capt, games 1 and 2)
  2. Henry Nicholls
  3. Martin Guptill
  4. Ross Taylor
  5. Todd Astle
  6. Trent Boult
  7. Colin de Grandhomme
  8. Lockie Ferguson
  9. Matt Henry
  10. Tom Latham
  11. Colin Munro (Game 3)
  12. Jimmy Neesham
  13. Mitchell Santner
  14. Tim Southee


A total of 3 test matches and 3 ODI matches will be played in NZ vs BAN series. This will be good practice for both teams to assess their strengths and weaknesses before the mega event.

For more updates, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Pic Credits: DNA India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top