CWC2019: New Zealand Announce Squad for World Cup 2019

New Zealand Announce Squad for World Cup 2019
Image Credits: WSJ


As the World Cup draws near, every team is focused on finalizing the squad for the mega event. New Zealand is the first team to name their 15-man squad for Cricket World Cup 2019 that will be flying to England to play. Kane Williamson will lead a formidable looking Kiwi squad.

Official Announcement

The official announcement was made through Kiwis National team’s official Twitter Handle:

In addition to the usual suspects, a few surprise picks include the uncapped Tom Blundell and Jimmy Neesham, who has been out of the team for some time now due to various reasons.


Complete New Zealand Squad

Here is the complete squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Tom Blundell, Jimmy Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

The batting department will be led by Kane Williamson himself, assisted by strong players like Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, and Tom Blundell.

On the other hand, the bowling is very strong with the likes of swing-bowlers including Trent Boult, Tim Southee, and express pacers like Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson. Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi will be the spinners while Colin de Grandhomme and Jimmy Neesham will be playing as all-rounders.

Overall, it’s a strong unit in terms of batting, bowling, and fielding and they will be a tough side to beat on their day.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top