IPL 2019

IPL 2019: A look at all the Captains in this year’s Indian Premier League

IPL 2019 All Captains stats


Another edition of the Indian Premier League – IPL  is almost here to captivate us with all its thrills and dramas. And this year, it is looking bigger and better than ever.

Having started out way back in 2008, IPL has gone on to become a global phenomenon. This year marks the 12th anniversary of the most anticipated domestic competition in the World with a number of foreign players gracing the event. IPL starts on the 23rd of March as the defending champions, Chennai Super Kings, take on Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first clash of the tournament.

But before it gets started, let us have a look at the skippers that will be leading their teams this year for the ultimate prize.

Captains’ Corner

IPL sees 8 teams competing against each other as they play home and away matches, with the top 4 qualifying for playoffs. These teams will be led by a mix of young and seasoned campaigners as we take a look at the stats.

  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni – Chennai Super Kings

Widely regarded as one of the best finishers in limited over’s format, Captain Cool is the most successful captain in IPL by far.

He has been with the CSKs ever since the IPL started, disregarding the two seasons CSK was banned and has led his team to a record 3 IPL titles. Along with this, he also led his team to 2 CLT20 trophies and will be defending this year’s trophy after winning the trophy in 2018. He has the record of:

  • Most matches as captain
  • Most wins as captain

Dhoni had his best IPL season last year, both with the bat and as a captain, and he surely will be looking to replicate that form in this year’s IPL.

  • Virat Kohli – Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli has been the best player on this planet for the past couple of years. He has been terrorizing opponents with his World-Class batting and has played some truly magnificent innings. He has also incorporated that winning mentality in his captaincy as he recently whitewashed the mighty Aussies on their home turf.

Virat Kohli has also been fundamental for the RCBs aswell. He has been involved in a number of match-winning innings, both as a player and captain.

However, the only thing missing from his CV is an IPL trophy as he looks to turn his fortunes around this time.

  • Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma, also known as Hitman became the first man in cricket when he scored a double century in an ODI against Srilanka. He has been a different class altogether, since. A regular starter for India in all formats, Rohit Sharma has been one of the top opening batsmen in the world.

Rohit Sharma has been, along with Dhoni, the most successful captain in IPL history. He has led his team to 3 IPL trophies, a feat only matched by Dhoni. Along with this, he also has a CLT20 trophy to his name. Can he add another one to his trophy cabinet? There is a very strong chance he can!

  • Dinesh Kartik – Kolkata Knight Riders

Dinesh Kartik, the veteran wicket-keeper, was named the captain of KKR last year as he looked to fill in the shoes of Gautam Gambhir. KKR had been the champions twice, 2012 and 2014, and they reached the 2nd qualifier under Kartik’s captaincy.

He would be hoping for an even better outing this time as he looks to challenge for the IPL trophy.

Also Read: Kolkata Knight Riders launch new jersey and official promo

  • Ravichandran Ashwin – Kings XI Punjab

Kings XI Punjab have boasted a number of high-profile players over the course of time. There have always been huge expectations surrounding them but unfortunately, nothing has materialized for them.

They put their expectations on one of the finest spinners in this game, Ashwin, hoping that he would incorporate his brilliance with the ball in his captaincy. Unfortunately, they met the same fate as they finished just 2 points off the last position.

This time around, too, expectations are high as Ashwin leads the team once again, in his quest for their maiden IPL trophy.

  • Shreyas Iyer – Delhi Capitals

Just like the Kings, Delhi Capitals, previously known a Delhi Daredevils, too, have failed to live up to their hype. Boasting a number of world-class players, Delhi made it to the playoffs just once, that too in 2012.

After struggling under in 2018, Gautam Gambir stepped aside as Delhi handed over the captaincy duties to their young gun, Iyer. The team, despite finishing last, had a number of positives during his reign and he’d be hoping to make a mark in the upcoming IPL, as he makes his case for the World Cup.

  • Kane Williamson – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers made their first appearance in 2013, led by Warner, where they finished in the playoffs. They went on to win the title under his captaincy in 2016 but he had to step down in 2018 due to the ball tempering scandal. His replacement, Kane Williamson, instantly made a mark as he led his team to the final in his maiden term as captain where he also won the orange cape with 735 runs.

However, he may miss the start of the season due to the shoulder injury he sustained during Bangladesh’s visit. HUGE BLOW!

  • Ajinkya Rahane – Rajasthan Royals

Last but not least, the Mighty Rajasthan Royals. They made all the headlines when they won the inaugural tournament way back in 2008. However, they have been battling a downhill battle ever since.

Rajasthan Royals made a comeback in 2018 after a two-year ban where they were led by Rahane, their leading run-scorer. The team made it to the playoffs under his captaincy where they eventually lost to KKR. However, Rahane is eager to have an impactful IPL this year as he looks to make his way into the World Cup squad.

Who do you think is the best captain among these? Tell us your thoughts in the comments.

For more updates, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top