IPL 2019

IPL 2019: A detailed list of all Indian Premier League Records so far

IPL 2019: All Indian Premier League records so far


The biggest Franchise based Cricket competition, Indian Premier League, is almost upon us. Having started out way back in 2008, this year marks the 12th edition of IPL. The highly anticipated event, IPL, is just days away, so before the event starts, let’s take a look at all the records of the Indian Premier League so far.

IPL Records Galore

IPL has been one of the most successful leagues in the World and it has seen a number of international players grace it. Not only that, it has seen a whole lot of records being made and broken and this has made it just that more interesting. With our best efforts to cover all of the important records, we start off with the most obvious ones:

Batting Records:

  • Most Sixes – Chris Gayle (292*)

Of course, it is a T20 game and what else do we want than to see balls being smashed out of the park right? Right! And the name that instantly comes into the mind, CHRIS GAYLE!

Chris Gayle plays his trade for the Royal Challengers Bangalore and he has lightened up the Indian Premiere on a number of occasions. Gayle, who has the most international sixes, has smashed a record 292 sixes in 112 matches, 102 more than his nearest challenger AB Devilliers. He also boasts the record of most sixes in an innings, 17.

  • Most Runs – Suresh Raina (4985*)

Suresh Raina has been playing for the Chennai Super Kings from the inaugural season of IPL. He has been one of the most influential players, not just for the CSK but in IPL as a whole and his stats don’t say otherwise.

In 176 matches, Suresh Raina has scored a massive 4985 runs at an average of 34.37. Along with this, he is also the first Indian player to smash 100 sixes in IPL. He is also the first player to score 400+ runs in 7 consecutive IPL seasons (2008-2014). Not bad at all.

  • Highest Individual score – Chris Gayle (175* – 13 fours, 17 sixes)

You just can’t keep him out of the contest, can you?

Chris Gayle smashed a monstrous 175 not out from JUST 66 BALLS way back in 2012. Now, try beating that!

  • Highest Average (min. 25 innings) – David Miller (48.10)

Despite T20 being a smash and hit game, David Miller has one of the best averages in the shortest format of the game.

Overall, the highest average for any IPL player is (52.16). This record is held by Delhi Capital’s Vijay Shankar who has played 15 innings in 19 matches.

  • Most Fifties – Gautam Gambhir (36)

Consistency is the key and Gautam Gambhir has been one of the most consistent players in IPL. Having previously played for the likes of Kolkata Knight Riders, Gautam Gambhir is 4th on the all time run-scorer in IPL.

Now a part of the team Delhi Capitals, Gambhir equaled the record of most fifties in 2018, previously held by David Warner.

  • Most Centuries – Chris Gayle (6)

The self-proclaimed “Universe Boss” Chris Gayle is back in the list again. This time with the most number of centuries to his name.

Is there anything that this big guy hasn’t achieved? I guess not.

Miscellaneous records (Batting)

  • Lokesh Rahul has the fastest fifty in 14 balls.
  • Chirs Gayle has the fastest century in 30 balls.
  • Gautam Gambhir has the most number of fours with 491.
  • Andre Russell has the highest strike rate with 172.29 (39 innings).
  • Chris Gayle has the highest individual score with 175*.
  • AB and Virat Kohli have the highest partnership of 229 runs.

Bowling Records:

  • Most Wickets – Lasith Malinga (154)

Lasith Malinga has been one of the best bowlers in World Cricket for a number of years. With his uncanny slingy action, he has terrorized batsmen across the globe with his vicious Yorkers.

He will be part of the Mumbai Indians once again as he looks to add to his impressive tally of 154 wickets.

  • Best Bowling Figures – Sohail Tanvir (6/14 – 4 overs)

This is an interesting one. Back in the day when Pakistani Cricketers were allowed to play in the IPL, a certain guy by the name of Sohail Tanvir just ran riot through the opposition teams.

Having joined the Rajasthan Royals a little late in the tournament, Sohail Tanvir went on to be a huge success as he earned the Purple Cap in the Inaugural season of IPL. His figures of 6/14 are still to be bettered till date. Take a Bow Sir!

  • Best Average – Andrew Tye (16.36)

Andrew Tye had a wonderful last season for the Kings XI Punjab where he ended up with the most wickets and a purple cap.

He currently has the best Bowling Average of all the bowlers in IPL. He boasts an average of 16.36 with 36 wickets in 20 innings.

  • Best Economy – Sunil Narine (6.53)

Having a best economy stat column in the T20s is a bit harsh on the bowlers, isn’t it?

Not only does Sunil Narine has the best Economy Rate in IPL but the fact that he is also a spinner makes it just that more impressive.

  • Best Strike Rate – Andrew Tye (12.83)

Andrew Tye is back once again as he holds the record of best strike rate with figures of 12.83 in 20 innings.

  • Most Hat-Tricks – Amit Mishra (3)

One of the rarest sights to see in a T20 game is getting a Hat-trick.

Amit Mishra leads the chart with 3 hat-tricks, the most in IPL history.

  • Most Maiden overs bowled – Parveen Kumar (14)

Another one of the rarest sights in T20 cricket is bowling a maiden over and Parveen Kumar has bowled 14 of them, the most in IPL.

Miscellaneous Records (Bowling):

  • Most 4-wicket hauls – Sunil Narine (6)
  • Most 5-wicket hauls – James Faulkner (2)

Team Records:

  • Highest Total – Royal Challengers Bangalore (263-5)’

Royal Challengers Bangalore have the record of the highest innings total by a team as they made the record way back in 2013.

  • Lowest Total – Royal Challengers Bangalore (49)

Royal Challengers Bangalore have surprisingly the record of the lowest team total as well as they were bowled out for just 49 by Kolkatta Knight Riders.

Miscellaneous Records (Team)

  • Highest successful Run-Chase – Rajasthan Royals (217/7)
  • Lowest score defended – Chennai Super Kings (116/9)
  • Largest victory margin – Mumbai Indians (146)
  • Most Wins – Mumbai Indians (97)
  • Most Consecutive wins – Kolkata Knight Riders (9)

Other Miscellaneous: (Combined)

  • Most Catches – Suresh Raina (95)
  • Most Dismissals – Danesh Karthik (124)
  • Highest Win% – Chennai Super Kings (61.56)
  • Most Matches – Suresh Raina (176)
  • Most Man of the Matches – Chris Gayle (20)

The 12th edition of the IPL starts on 23rd March as Chennai Super Kings Square off against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

How excited are you for this year’s IPL? Let us know in the comments.
For more updates on the league, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top