Ind vs NZ 3rd T20: India lost the match and the series under Rohit’s Lead

Ind vs NZ 3rd T20: India lost the match and series


Ind vs NZ 3rd T20 of the series was a thriller with Kiwis winning the match in the final over. The match was played in Seddon Park, Hamilton.

India Invites New Zealand to Bat First

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and choose to bowl first. New Zealand replaced Ferguson with the debutant Tickner. Indian bowlers started to use their variations from the very beginning but Seifert and Munro were in the mood and they were off to a flyer. The pitch looked absolutely a paradise for batting and both openers put on 80 runs partnership for the 1st wicket.

The partnership was finally broken in the 8th over when India introduced Kuldeep Yadav to show his magic. He bowled a straight one to Seifert who came down the ground but missed the ball and Dhoni did the rest. Seifert scored 43 off just 25 balls.

Skipper Williamson came to join Munro. The stage was well set after brilliant opening stand and both Munro and Williamson started to score runs with ease. 55 runs were added to the scoreboard by these two.

Munro completed his 50 off just 28 balls.

He further went on to score 72 off just 40 balls. Kuldeep Yadav got the wicket in 14th over. Khaleel, who went for plenty in the early overs found redemption by dismissing Williamson with a slower short ball.

De Grandhomme and Mitchell continued to keep the run-rate up and smashed fours and sixes. A quickfire 43 off just 22 balls was added to scoreboard by these two. Grandhomme scored 30 off 16 balls. New Zealand, in the end, posted 212 for the loss of just 4 wickets. Mitchell and Ross Taylor remained unbeaten on 19 and 14 respectively. Kuldeep Yadav picked up 2 for 26.


India Response

Shikar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma failed to provide a good start with Dhawan going out in the first over for just 5 runs. Rohit Sharma and Shankar started to redeem the innings and added 75 runs for the 2nd wicket. Santner came to the rescue in the 9th over and picked up the prize wicket of Shankar. Shankar played brilliant innings of 43 off 28 balls.

Rohit Sharma and Pant made sure to keep India in the chase and they both added 44 runs to the scoreboard. The debutant Tickner got the big wicket of Pant in 13th over when Pant gave a catch to Williamson in the midwicket off Tickner’s bowling. 92 runs were required in 46 bowls at that stage and the run-rate was going up with every ball.

In the 14th over, Mitchell picked up the huge wicket of Rohit Sharma and New Zealand started to build pressure on India. Hardik Pandya and Dhoni failed to deliver with the bat. Pandya looked promising but his 21 runs off 11 balls proved to be too little.

Dinesh Karthik and Krunal Pandya tried to save the sinking ship. India required 16 runs in the last over but Tim Southee bowled an economical over. Karthik and Pandya scored 63 runs from just 28 balls but the effort went in vain. New Zealand won the match by 4 runs. with Michell and Santner picking up 2 wickets each

With this win, New Zealand also clinched the series with 2-1.

Colin Munro got the Man of the Match Award for his brilliant 73 runs while Seifert bagged the Man of the Series Award for scoring 139 runs in the 3 match series.

What do you think of the performance of India under Rohit Sharma aka the hitman? Let us know in the comments.

For more updates, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Pic Credits: Times of India

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top