Ind vs NZ 1st T20: Seifert and Southee makes it 1-0 for Kiwis in T20I series

Ind vs NZ 1st T20: Seifert and Southee makes 1-0 for Kiwis


New Zealand continued their impressive run against India in T20I after beating them comprehensively in the 1st T20I of IND vs NZ series. The first of the 3 matches T20I series was played in Wellington.

India Invites New Zealand to Bat First

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and invited New Zealand to bat first. Dhoni, Pant, and Karthik all found a place in the Playing XI with Shubman Gill, Siddarth Kaul, Kuldeep Yadav, and Kedar Jadhav missing out. Dary Mitchell made his debut for New Zealand.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar took the new ball and bowled beautifully in the 1st over, conceding just 4 runs. But since then, Kiwi batsmen took the charge and started to hit boundaries. Colin Munro hit 2 back to back boundaries off Khaleel Ahmed’s bowling. Tim Seifert also hit 2 boundaries off Kumar’s bowling in the 3rd over of the match. Both openers added a quickfire 86 for the 1st wicket partnership.

Colin Munro scored 34 runs before going out on playing a sweep shot off Krunal Pandya bowling.

He also achieved a personal milestone of scoring 5000 runs in T20 cricket.

Soon after Tim Seifert scored his maiden fifty in T20I Internationals. He was dropped on 71 runs by Karthik but the fabulous innings of Seifert finally came to end and he walked back on 84 runs off just 43 balls. It was a shame that not many people were presented in the stadium to witness this brilliant inning.

The next batsmen came with a set stage and were aiming to score at a quick pace. India tried to make a late comeback by picking up 2 wickets on 2 balls with Daryl Mitchell falling on 8 and then Kane Williamson failing to clear the ropes on Chahal’s bowling. He scored 34 off 22 balls.

In the end, New Zealand scored 219 runs from the allotted 20 overs. A total of 5 bowlers were used by India. Everyone picked wicket but went for plenty of runs.


India’s Response

Tim Southee started well for New Zealand, giving just 1 run in the 1st over. India soon released the pressure and Dhawan hit 6,6,4 off Scott Kuggelejin’s bowling. They were on 18/0 after 2 overs. But India hit a speed breaker when Rohit Sharma gave a catch at deep square leg to Ferguson off Southee’s bowling.

Vijay Shankar walked in at number 3. He soon started to up the run-rate, scoring 16 runs in the 5th over. They both added quickfire 33 off just 19 balls but Ferguson provided the breakthrough by bowling a searing yorker at speed of 151kph to Shikar Dhawan.

Mitchell Santner joined the party and picked 2 wickets in the 8th over. India soon found themselves at 77/6 in 11 overs. MS Dhoni and Krunal Pandya tried to stay in the chase and adding 52 runs for the 7th wicket but it was too late for making a comeback.

In the end, India was all out on just 139 runs. MS Dhoni was the highest scorer with 39. Apart from Scott Kuggeleijn, all Kiwi bowlers contributed with the bowl. Tim Southee was the strike bowler, picking up 3 wickets for just 17 runs.

This is the biggest defeat of India in T20.

The 2nd match of IND vs NZ T20I series will be played on 8th February at Aukland. Will India be able to make a comeback in the series? Let us know in the comments.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top