World Cup 2019

England announces preliminary squad for Cricket World Cup 2019

England announces preliminary squad for Cricket World Cup 2019
Credits: Fox Sports


The Cricket World Cup 2019 is now just 43 days away and teams are busy announcing their final squads for the big event. Australia, India, New Zealand, and Bangladesh have already revealed their final 15 and now England has also introduced the preliminary squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 too.  The team led by skipper Eoin Morgan will first play 1 T20 and 5 ODIs long series against Pakistan in England and then the final unit will be announced by England Cricket Board (ECB).

Final 15 for upcoming series against Pakistan

Here are the final 15 who have made the cut:

  • Eoin Morgan (c)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Jos Buttler (wk)
  • Tom Curran
  •  Joe Denly
  •  Alex Hales
  •  Liam Plunkett
  •  Adil Rashid
  •  Joe Root
  • Jason Roy
  • Ben Stokes
  • David Willey
  • Chris Woakes
  • Mark Wood


A powerful unit

The England board members continued with the same squad which played against West Indies. It is expected that there will be some changes to the existing squad and few new faces might get a chance to play World Cup 2019.

The English team has roped in quite a few powerful batsmen in their team. The presence of Alex Hales, Moeen Ali and Joe Root will add a monumental amount of experience and the presence of Eoin Morgan would also be reaffirming for the squad. Morgan is a calm and composed leader who has the ability to extract the best out of his players.

In the bowling department, the team would be led by Mark Wood and Chris Woakes. Both have shown tremendous form in the recent past. Even David Wiley could give the Pakistani batsmen a tough time; his 4/7 in the third T20 against West Indies, hinted towards his growing talent as a bowler.

Jofra Archer & Jordan miss out

All cricket pundits believed that All-rounder Jofra Archer would definitely be tested during the series against Pakistan however, to everyone’s surprise, he has not been selected in the squad. Although the selection panel was impressed with Jofra Archer’s performances in domestic and franchise cricket yet found it too early to give him a chance in the national side. Another all-rounder who has been left out is Chris Jordan. He is a regular in International T20s for England over the past few years but due to stiff competition in the form of Joe Root, Jason Roy and Johnny Bairstow, Jordan has been left out this time.

The final squad for the World Cup will be announced after England’s series against Pakistan is concluded. Let’s see who gets a chance to become a part of the final 15 and will a new entry be made into the squad or not.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top