World Cup 2019

CWC19: Aghanistan Announce World Cup 2019 Squad

CWC19: Aghanistan Announce World Cup 2019 Squad


Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced 15-man squad for the World Cup 2019 which starts 30th May. The selection committee picked the team to be captained by all-rounder Gulbadin Naib.

The Afghan team boasts a strong batting line complemented by a world-class spin bowling duo of Rashid Khan and Mujeeb ur Rahman. While the fast bowling lacks depth, the team is overall a good combination of youth and experience.

In Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Shahzad, Hazratullah Zazai, Asghar Afghan and Mohammad Nabi, Afghanistan has put up an impressive batting unit and it remains to be seen whether they can pull off one or upsets.

The Squad

  1. Gulbadin Naib (C)
  2. Mohammad Shahzad (WK)
  3. Noor Ali Zadran
  4. Hazratullah Zazai
  5. Rahmat Shah
  6. Asghar Afghan
  7. Hashmatullah Shahidi
  8. Najibullah Zadran
  9. Samiullah Shinwari
  10. Mohammad Nabi
  11. Rashid Khan
  12. Dawlat Zadran
  13. Aftab Alam
  14. Hamid Hassan
  15. Mujeeb ur Rahman

Surprisingly, the former captain, Asghar Afghan who was axed from captaincy role a few days back has also made it to the squad. The change of leadership was questioned not just by the masses but the players including Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan as well.

It will be the first time Naib will lead the team however, Afghanistan is due to play a tri-series in Ireland which will offer him good match practice as a captain of the side.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top