NZ vs BAN: Bangladesh to play against New Zealand without star players

NZ vs Ban: Bangladesh announces squad for test and ODIs


Bangladesh has announced their squad for upcoming NZ vs BAN series but they will be without some of their key payers in this series. This will be Bangladesh’s full series before the World Cup. They will participate in a tri-nation series in May but series against New Zealand could be key series for them to see which players to take with them for the World Cup 2019.

Injury Concerns

Bangladesh will be without Taskin Ahmed and Shakib ul Hasan. Taskin Ahmed suffered lateral ligament damage during BPL and was ruled out from action for at least 6 weeks. Shakib al Hasan who was included in the squad initially sustained an injury to his left ring finger in Friday’s BPL match. He will miss the whole ODI series and might also miss out the 1st test match which will start on 28th February.

BCB Senior Physician Dr. Debashis Chowdhury said:

“An x-ray was done after the match and the results have confirmed a fracture on the left ring finger. The affected area will now have to be immobilised for around three weeks.”

SEE MORE: New Zealand squad announced for Bangladesh series.

Bangladesh has announced that Shafiul Islam and uncapped fast bowler Ebadot Hossain will replace the injured Taskin Ahmed in the Bangladesh ODI and Test squad respectively. Shafiul who last played ODI for Bangladesh in October 2016 was selected after impressing in the BPL, picking up 15 wickets at an average of 23.53.

The inclusion of Ebadot also didn’t come as surprise as among the pace bowlers in the Bangladesh Cricket League first-class competition, he was the highest wicket-taker in the 2018-19 season.

The selectors are yet to announce the replacement for Shakib al Hasan.

Bangladesh ODI Squad

  1. Mashrafe Mortaza (C)
  2. Tamim Iqbal
  3. Soumya Sarkar
  4. Liton Das
  5. Shakib Al Hasan (Injured)
  6. Mushfiqur Rahim
  7. Mahmudullah
  8. Rubel Hossain
  9. Mustafizur Rahman
  10. Mehidy Hasan
  11. Mohammad Mithun
  12. Mohammad Saifuddin
  13. Nayeem Hasan
  14. Taskin Ahmed (Replaced by Shafiul)
  15. Sabbir Rahman


Bangladesh Test Squad

  1. Shakib Al Hasan (C) – Injured
  2. Mohammad Mithun
  3. Mominul Haque
  4. Mushfiqur Rahim
  5. Mahmudullah
  6. Mehidy Hasan
  7. Mustafizur Rahim
  8. Taijul Islam
  9. Khaled Ahmed
  10. Naeem Hasan
  11. Shadman Islam
  12. Liton Das
  13. Tamim Iqbal
  14. Abu Jayed
  15. Taskin Ahmed (Replaced by Ebadot)

NZ vs BAN series will have 3 test matches and 3 ODI matches respectively. Let’s see how both teams fare against each other.

For more updates, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Pic Credits: Dhaka Tribune

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top