World Cup 2019

CWC19: Warner, Smith Return to Australia’s World Cup 2019 Squad

CWC19: David Warner, Steve Smith Return to Australia's Squad
Via Cricket Australia


The World Cup squads are finally being announced and this time it’s Australia sharing the big news with the cricket fans. Australia announced the squad for Cricket World Cup 2019 on Sunday, marking the return of former captain Steve Smith and David Warner who will be seen playing for Australia at the mega event.

Smith, however, will not be performing the duties of captaining the side as Aaron Finch will continue to lead the side after brilliant series wins in India and the UAE.

Australia World Cup Squad


Here is the 15-man squad for Australia:

  • Aaron Finch (c)
  • David Warner
  • Steve Smith
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Alex Carey (wk)
  • Pat Cummins
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Adam Zampa
  • Nathan Lyon.

The return of previously banned cricketers will further boost the batting. Surprisingly, Peter Handscomb, who was an integral part of the last two series, has not been made a part of the squad. When it comes to bowling, Mitchell Starc will return and so will Jhye Richardson, both were previously injured. Josh Hazelwood has been left out of the squad.

Adam Zampa and Nathan Lyon will be the two primary spin-bowling options like the previous two tours. Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Alex Carey are the usual suspects while Jason Behrendorff has been picked along with Nathan Coulter-Nile in the bowling department ahead of Kane Richardson, James Pattinson, and Billy Stanlake.

For more updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top