Australia name squad for India tour without their star man

Ind vs Aus: Australia announced te 15-man squad


With World Cup 2019 in mind, Australia has named their 15-man squad for the upcoming IND vs AUS series. The series is set to start from 24th February. The squad can be taken as the biggest hint that which players are under Cricket Australia’s radar for the World Cup which will be held in the UK from May 30th.

Mitchell Starc Misses Out Due to Injury

Sadly in the important series before World Cup 2019, Australia will be without Mitchell Starc due to a pectoral muscle injury. The fast bowling department of Australia is already facing a crisis with Josh Hazlewood already ruled out due to a back injury sustained in test series against Sri Lanka.

Mitchell Strac had an inconsistent summer before making a 10-wicket haul comeback against Sri Lanka, but the national selector Trevor Hohns confirming injury has ruled the paceman out.

“Unfortunately, scans have revealed that Mitchell Starc sustained a substantial tear to his left pec muscle while bowling on the final day of the Test match in Canberra.”

Strac will be unavailable in IND vs AUS series but will be back on time for ODI series against Pakistan in March. Kane Richardson will be replacing Starc who last played for Australia on the tour of England in June last year.

Chris Lynn and Matthew Wade left out

Both Chris Lynn and Matthew Wade has been dropped from the team and it seems like they both are not in the plans for World Cup despite showing form in the domestic season. Wade has consistently scored runs in BBL and Sheffield Shield but despite averaging 44.27 in the Big Bash League with five half-centuries to his name, selectors retained vice-captain Alex Carey instead.


Australia’s Squad for Tour of India

  1. Aaron Finch (c)
  2. Usman Khawaja
  3. Shaun Marsh
  4. Peter Handscomb
  5. Glenn Maxwell
  6. Ashton Turner
  7. Marcus Stoinis
  8. Alex Carey
  9. Pat Cummins
  10. Nathan Coulter-Nile
  11. Jhye Richardson
  12. Kane Richardson
  13. Jason Behrendorff
  14. Nathan Lyon
  15. Adam Zampa
  16. *D’Arcy Short – selected to cover S. Marsh for the start of the tour

Due to the birth of his 2nd child, Shaun Marsh will miss the start of the series. He is expected to be available for the third ODI on March 8.

For more updates on the series, keep visiting Cricket Howzat.

Pic Credits: Fox Sports

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top